The Woes Of The Ghanaian Drink…! – By Yussuf Daakyehene Bouda

Proudly Ghanaian

I am The Drink… The African Drink… The Ghanaian Drink…!

I have been in existence for God knows how long and yet, I have no intentions of going anywhere…! My importance is in the African… The Ghanaian society can never be over emphasized…!

There can be no Marriages, Funerals, Naming ceremonies or any form of merry making without me…! In the mist of sadness or in happiness, I have been a trusted and loyal companion to all…! Rich or poor… Young or old… Man or woman… Gay or straight… I do not differentiate…!

I am the Drink… The African Drink… The Ghanaian Drink…!

I enjoyed monopoly for years unending until the Whites… Yes! The Whites with their ships and drums full of Rum and Whisky docked upon our shores…! My Shores!

Quickly, like a miracle, the taste buds of my People… the African people… the Ghanaian people… changed in favour of those Bottled Poisons the Whites called Drinks…!

They replaced Palm wine with Smirnoff Ice… Emiejor with Malta Guinness… And Pito with Don Garcia…! My GOD..! Even Tankwan Beer had to make way for what they now call Star or Club beer…!

Yet I still am The Drink… The African Drink… The Ghanaian Drink…!

Where was Eva or Hallelujah non-alcoholic wine when Zoobolo was the in-thing…?

Where was Guinness when Brukutu was the power behind the performance of the Ghanaian man… and the reason for which married women called their husbands Daddy…? Where was Guinness…?

I pity those who refer to Blue Jeans, Rox, Lucozade, Gluconade etc as energy drinks for they know not what they are missing…!

Have a taste of Konsaane when next you visit the Upper West Region or Zomkom if by chance you find yourself in the Upper East Region… For only then will you clearly see the picture I am trying to paint…!

I am The Drink… The African Drink… The Ghanaian Drink…!

Even my distant cousins (Koko, Obrayo, Ekoegbemi, Tapioka, Rice water, Mpampa etc) have also had their fair share of colonial interference… Custard, Milo, Tea, Cornflakes, etc is what appeals to my people now…!

Forgetting that the pillars of the African… the Ghanaian economy is gradually crumbling with every passing day as the consumption of these foreign products keeps increasing…!

Maybe the change I pray for should start with the gods themselves for even they have developed the tongue for foreign Drinks (Schnapps)…!

But the one thing the Whites brought along with them which I agree with is the proverb, “Losing the War doesn’t necessarily mean losing the Battle”…. I may have lost the War but not the Battle…!

For I still take pride in the fact that I am a Drink… An African Drink… A Ghanaian Drink…!

*All rights reserved on all articles posted on WTA. Please lets respect intellectual properties and duly seek permission before we use them.

