Is It Too Much To Ask…? – Yussuf Daakyehene Bouda

As I sit to write this down, nostalgic memories of the good times we used to share just keeps coming to me over and over again… from the first time at the club to the last time I said goodbye to u at the O.A travel & tour station, I remember every bit of those beautiful memories so clearly… How could I have known that saying goodbye to you on that day was saying goodbye to you forever…?

The memories are about…

… The first time we were at the beach together.., the games we played in the white salty sand…

…The first time we took a walk in your neighbourhood.., holding hands and stealing kisses, caring less about who is watching…

…The long midnight calls we made.., planning our future together, regardless about whether our parents, families of friends approved…

… The times you were there for me when I needed you most.., and the times I stood by you when all you needed was someone who understood what you were going through, and was willing to sacrifice all just to see u pull through…

… The Yor k3 Gari we ate together in times when all I had on me was just one Ghana cedis (1Ghc)… The times when 40p Wele was all we could afford in our pot of soup…

All I do now is wonder… cos I don’t know how and when things got this bad… when did this beautiful love of ours fade away that I never realised…? When…? How did it happen.., that two people who were seemingly made for each other could get to a point where hatred and pain is what we feel for each other…? How…?

I remember those days when we used debate about which one of us loved the other more… when I say I love u more and u say, “no I love u more”…

I remember those days when we could chat throughout the night till we go to sleep in each other’s arms…

Yes I remember…!

I remember the Abonua tea (Lime tea) you used to prepare for me anytime I fell sick… and how you’ll tease me soon after I was better about how much of a baby I was whenever I fall sick…

I remember the special groundnut soup you used to prepare for me whenever my “next week” (Student Allowance) was in.., and the different assorted variety of meat that will be swimming there in… Chicken, beef, Kpeve/Keta school boys down to my favourite Wele… How can I forget…?

As i sit down writing this, I can feel in my system how tired I am… My eyes are teary… My head is aching… My heart is bleeding and my hands are shaky… my legs are weak and my stomach feels no more hunger…

Today was the tomorrow I feared for yesterday… How I wish this day never came…

…Is it too much to ask…? For those beautiful memories back again… Is it too much to ask?

… Is it too much to ask…? That you believe in that love we once shared… Is it too much to ask?

… Is it too much to ask…? That you stayed faithful to me as I did to you… Is it too much to ask…?

… Was i asking too much when I said you should let go off those “friends” whose only motive was to destroy this beautiful love that we shared… was I asking too much…?

… I don’t think I was asking too much when I said you should show me a bit of love and care… the kind that you used to show to me when we first began… or was I…?

After everything… after the good and bad times, after the love that we shared, after the time and energy we put into this union, after the traditional introduction and above all after our baby who unfortunately never saw the light of day.., I would have thought that, all of this should have made our love grow even stronger…

But, how much do I know about love…? And in your own words “not all the best of loves that ends in a happy ever after” right…?

Anyway, I’m sorry for all the pains I have caused you… And I pray you find the HAPPINESS I was never able to give you…! Stay safe…!

**All rights reserved on all articles posted on WTA. Please lets respect intellectual properties and duly seek permission before we use them.

