If My Mum Was On Facebook! – By Yussuf Daakyehene Bouda

 

 

If my mum was on facebook,

I wouldn’t have been able to tell you how stubborn i was when i was in school,

How i used to punish and bully my junior ones back in school in those days and

How i used to run to town to do all sorts of unthinkable things when i was in the

Boarding house.

 

If my mum was on facebook,

I would have been so ashamed to tell you how i used to “Tii Tsobo” for extra

Classes i never attended, for textbooks i never bought and for mentainance

Fees i was never billed.

 

If my mum was on facebook,

I wouldn’t have told you all this cos i know she will be very disappointed in me.

 

If my mum was on facebook,

I wouldn’t have been able to lie to you on how brilliant i was when i was in school,

For she will tell you how i got repeated for two years and how she used to chase

Me to school with a cane everyday just because i was a truant who didn’t like going

To school.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If my mum was on facebook,

I wouldn’t have been on facebook in the first place cos at age 20something, she would have

Told me i was too young to be on facebook… She would said,”Yussuf, Nsumooo

Manabo y3 nakai sait33 nor dornn. Ole ak3 onukpaa site ni lo?”… Funny right?

Well she still sees me as her little baby boy. Though i like it sometimes, other times

I hate being treated like a Micro Chiwaowa.

 

If my mum was on facebook,

Like eno go bi give me kraa… like she go spoil all ma connections den all ma moves

Give me. Like she go make sure sey that “Engagement” thing i get for ma profile top

Nu like i comot am longtime. Wey i sure sey like me den am go dey use one password!…

Lol.

 

If my mum was on facebook,

One thing was for sure, i would have used this medium to tell her how much she means

To me and how much i love her. I would have tagged her in this note so she can see that

Am not ashamed to tell the whole world how good she has been to me as a mother and

That if i had the chance to choose my mother in the after life, i will make no other better

Choice but to choose her.

 

If my mum was on facebook,

This was what was going to happen…

My father would have been on facebook too… Which means that I would have to write

A whole new poem and call it, “IF MY DAD WAS ON FACEBOOK”.

But if my Dad was on facebook, i wouldn’t have written this poem in the first place….

**All rights reserved on all articles posted on WTA. Please let’s respect intellectual properties and duly seek permission before we use them. The views and opinions expressed here do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of WTA.

