RE: President Mills Last Letter To Rawlings – By Nana Ayimadu Bekoe

My Dearest Friend, Atta.

I received the final epistle you passed to me through the promising postman, Manasseh Azure.  Though I was clad in a deep grief, I was also enthused to be the last person to ever receive a letter from you. A feat that can not be compared to the joyous fact that I had the honour to invite you into the realm of Public service.  Whenever I hear the mounds of praise and tasty tributes been heaped on your memory, I turn to our maker in praise and thanks for making me the bridge that connected you to the service of our nation.

It has been my prayer since I read your letter, that my reply will get to you before the body of man filled with running blood will present your flesh to the soil on your transition journey to the maker.   Gloriously today, the almighty has made it possible as you and your ardent followers on earth read my reply which is never my last words to your memory.

As you heard in part of my interview with the hardworking national broadcaster of the Great Britain. I couldn’t take the news of your sudden demise lightly. Indeed, I breathed fury every second after the moment I learnt the shocking news from Martey-Newman. In faraway Congo, I was saddened beyond the limit a friend can carry the grief of losing a very good friend. My fury translated the grief I was bearing into words and I could not save it any longer in trying to be who I am.

I shove away the ark of clemency, because I was looking for an event that will bring us both back into our regular terms to share the jokes we used to, to pat our backs and say bye anytime we exhausted our conversational periods, to shake your hands and yell out ‘my Prof’ and hear you return the gesture by mentioning me as ‘your Excellency’. I pitied the barriers that made this impossible. The more I pursued to overstep them, the more they moved you away. And sad enough, they bruised my wounds the more I thrived just to make me look an adversary to you.

In your letter, the first thing that touched my heart was the description you used to depict the state of your honourable body within the morgue of the Military Infirmary as it awaits burial. I felt the Professor Mills I knew prior to 1996, the demeanour that moved me to back your decision to deliver a better Ghana to our great levels of generation. The motivation from your performance as my deputy assured me, that you will continue from where we stopped in 2000. Believing in your selfless and dedicated service to society, I supported you with my body and soul to avail your quality and devoted leadership to Ghana.

However, I began to note the countless actions that you took that sought to veer off the purpose Ghanaians handed the mantle of leadership to you. I may have committed a lot of mistakes during my tenure as you said, but I expected you to pick a clue from that, so the ordinary Ghanaian will easily hand a second term mantle to you. The details of what I call series of mistakes are well known to you so I won’t consider restating them in your memory. As the Akan (a language you speak better than me) adage goes ‘An elder who stays mute for the young ones to dine the meat of a python, will also be considered as an accomplice’; I believe your wise soul will understand the need for this quote.

My good friend, I appreciated your condemnation of one of the worrying sides of politics in our race. I have never taken solace in the use of character assassination, vilification and insults to rebuke and chastise the evil events of government officials who seek to take the naive public for granted, but I hugely expected Atta – Mills as president to take heed of my calls to deliver an accountable face of leadership or form of government by initiating punitive measures to deter destructive tendencies in our country.

Today, from where I stand. I can continue the fight to stop corruption from soiling the business of and for the people. I will continue to represent the voiceless and ordinary Ghanaian to ensure that our society gets better, by and by.

Professor, I have long forgiven myself for not taking the bold step to push the barriers away, indeed I sometimes reflect on my criticism as too distant and odd for your humble notice. However, any conduct of mine or my household that seems to disturb your cherished memory is deeply regretted. My friend, your letter said a lot, some for the sake of the great respect your memory deserves I will hold my response that matches it.

I know, that your soul has won over ailments; it has triumphed over the wickedness of the world and finally, walked into the comfort of eternal glory.

The blame of your demise will reign in national circles, but the fact will still remain that just like some of us, you have done your bit for mother Ghana.

Prepare a humble place for me as you reach the haven of our maker, my warmest greetings to my dear departed friends W.O Woe Tetteh and Atta the Mortuary attendant who I made famous when I spoke at the Tamale congress.

I will forever remain your friend, a brother and a comrade in service to Mother Ghana. May you rest in the earnest peace that you represent.

Fare thee well, I will miss you as I await the eternal opportunity to join you and my maker.

Once again, REST IN PERFECT PEACE!

Your Friend

Flt. Lt Jerry John Rawlings.

**All rights reserved on all articles posted on WTA. Please lets respect intellectual properties and duly seek permission before we use them.

